Prof. Dr. Ulrich Tallarek (2. Sprache inaktiv)

Ulrich Tallareck

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Tallarek (2. Sprache inaktiv)

English: Title, University, etc.

Ulrich Tallarek is full professor at the Department of Chemistry of the Philipps-Universität Marburg. Working at the intersection of physical chemistry, analytical chemistry, materials science, and engineering, his central interest are the morphology, transport properties, and performance of functional porous solids applied in separation science, heterogeneous catalysis, and electrochemistry.


He studied chemistry at the Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen and obtained his Dr. rer. nat. in 1998 with an NMR imaging study of the fluid dynamics in porous media. As a Marie-Curie postdoctoral fellow 1998–2000 in Wageningen (The Netherlands), he developed and applied NMR tools for in situ characterization of transport in microfluidic devices, particularly electrokinetic microfluidics. From 2000 to 2007 he was on the faculty of the Department of Chemical & Process Engineering of the Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg, where he completed his habilitation in 2004 and received a venia legendi in physical chemistry. In 2007 he joined the Department of Chemistry at the Philipps-Universität Marburg as tenured professor.


His research focuses on the establishment of quantitative morphology–functionality–transport relationships for porous solids. Investigated are (intrinsically coupled) phenomena with increasing complexity, ranging from the interfacial dynamics to effective macroscale transport in hierarchically structured materials, to gain a thorough understanding of functionality and performance. This includes the 3D physical reconstruction of the pore space morphologies to present realistic geometrical models in subsequent transport simulations, the characterization of functionalized surfaces and engendered interfacial effects, the involved (electro)chemical reactions, as well as the multiscale dynamics of diffusion and fluid flow. Reconstruction techniques (e.g., electron tomography) and modeling approaches (e.g., molecular dynamics simulations) are complemented by advanced experiments (e.g., continuous-flow microreactor chemistry coupled with analytical instrumentation) to identify and quantify key interfacial and transport phenomena.


Professor Tallarek has received several honors and awards, including the Desty Memorial Prize for Innovation in Separation Science (2003), the Young Scientist Award from DECHEMA e.V. (2006), and the “Silver Jubilee Medal 2017” from The Chromatographic Society (UK). He was also finalist for the World Technology Awards, category “Environment”, presented in association with TIME, Fortune, CNN, and Science, and in 2013 was named as one of the 100 most influential analytical scientists in the world.

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Tallarek

Department of Chemistry

Philipps-Universität Marburg

Hans-Meerwein-Strasse 4

D–35032 Marburg



E-Mail: tallarek[at]

Tallarek et al. (2019) Multiscale simulation of diffusion in porous media: From interfacial dynamics to hierarchical porosity. J. Phys. Chem. C 123:15099.


Ziegler et al. (2019) Olefin metathesis in confined geometries: A biomimetic approach toward selective macrocyclization. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 141:19014.


Reich et al. (2018) Hindrance factor expression for diffusion in random mesoporous adsorbents obtained from pore-scale simulations in physical reconstructions. Ind. Eng. Chem. Res. 57:3031.


Kohns et al. (2018) Hierarchical silica monoliths with submicron macropores as continuous-flow microreactors for reaction kinetic and mechanistic studies in heterogeneous catalysis. React. Chem. Eng. 3:353.


Hlushkou et al. (2018) The influence of void space on ion transport in a composite cathode for all-solid-state batteries. J. Power Sources 396:363.


Rybka et al. (2017) Single-molecule and ensemble diffusivities in individual nanopores with spatially dependent mobility. ChemPhysChem 18:2094.


Müllner et al. (2017) Morphological properties of methacrylate-based polymer monoliths: From gel porosity to macroscopic inhomogeneities. Langmuir 33:2205.

1988–1994 Diplom-Chemiker (Eberhard-Karls-Universität, Tübingen, Germany)
1994–1998 Dr. rer. nat., Thesis: “Fluid dynamics in chromatography studied by nuclear magnetic resonance” (summa cum laude), Advisors: Prof. Dr. Ernst Bayer (Institute of Organic Chemistry, Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen) and Prof. Dr. Georges Guiochon (Department of Chemistry, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
1995–1996 Visiting Scientist (for six months) at the Department of Chemistry, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN, USA, Advisor: Prof. Dr. Georges Guiochon
1998–2000 EU Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow (Department of Molecular Physics, Wageningen University and Research Centre, Wageningen, The Netherlands), Topic: “NMR investigation of temporally and spatially resolved dynamics in porous media”
2000–2007 Assistant Professor (C1), later Juniorprofessor (W1) at the Institute of Chemical and Process Engineering, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität, Magdeburg, Germany
2000–2004 Dr. rer. nat. habil. (venia legendi for Physical Chemistry), Thesis: “Electrokinetic flow and transport in porous media: Experimental methods, numerical analysis, and applications”, Mentor: Prof. Dr. Andreas Seidel-Morgenstern (Institute of Chemical and Process Engineering, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg, and Max-Planck-Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems, Magdeburg)
2007–2011 Professor (W2) for Analytical Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Philipps-Universität Marburg
Since 2011 Professor (W3) for Analytical Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Philipps-Universität Marburg
Since 2007 Board of Directors, Materials Science Center, Philipps-Universität Marburg
2003 Desty Memorial Prize for Innovation in Separation Science, The Royal Institution of Great Britain, London
2006 Young Scientist Award from DECHEMA e.V., which is the German analog of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (this prize is based on cutting-edge research combined with excellent teaching skills)
2010 Offer for a chair “Microfluidic Chemistry and Technology” from the Department of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry, Eindhoven University of Technology (Eindhoven, The Netherlands)
2010 Offer for a professorship “Microfluidic and Nanofluidic Analysis Systems” from the Department of Chemistry, Ruhr-Universität Bochum (Bochum, Germany)
2011 Named Discussion Leader at the 2011 Gordon Research Conference on “Physics & Chemistry of Microfluidics”, Waterville Valley, NH, USA
2011–2012 Chairman of the German Chemical Society (GDCh), Marburg
2013 Finalist, World Technology Awards, for category “Environment” (presented in association with TIME, Fortune, CNN, and Science)
2013 Named as one of the 100 most influential analytical scientists in the world (“The Analytical Scientist Power List”)
2017 Recipient of the “Silver Jubilee Medal 2017”, The Chromatographic Society, UK (for his significant contributions to the development and understanding of flow and transport phenomena in chromatography)